Design a site like this with
Get started


Argos Sidiros

Argos Sidiros is an Opera for 8 voices, actor/narrator, symphony orchestra and choir. The duration is 90 minutes. The work was commissioned by Cyprus Symphony Orchestra and Kypria International Festival. World premier took place on 7 September 2021 under the baton of Mrs. Zoe Tsokanou.

When a chess player is fatally shot in New York’s Union Square, he is transferred to the planet of Little Life, a place Eight times larger than Earth, where he gets, like everyone there, ten more years to live. His body transforms again at the age of twenty, but the memory impressions of his previous life remain intact. Soon, the state of this new world turns out to be even more instable. Different schools of thought insist that in Little Life people have to relive their entire history on Earth, while some others prefer to start from a mnemonic tabula rasa framework. Through a series of striking episodes, the opera Crude Iron takes the spectator on a delirious journey spun in the vertigo of memory, time and technology.

People behind

Composer: Andys Skordis

Andys Skordis (CY-1983) is a composer emphasising on large scale works, music theatre and site specific pieces, creating works that refer to rituals and fictional ceremonial occurrences. His music has been performed worldwide and has received prizes such as the BUMA Toonzetters prize, awards from ISCM, Fedora, Third Coast Percussion group, Cyprus Symphony Orchestra, and more. Andys studied composition at Berklee College of Music, Conservatorium Van Amsterdam and ISI Denpasar.

Libretto: Sofronis Sofroniou

Sofronis Sofroniou is a Cypriot writer. He studied Psychology at the University of Cyprus and Neuroscience at the City University of New York. … His first novel, The Progenitors (Rodakio), received the National Award of Literature in Cyprus and the Best Newcomer Novelist Award from the Hellenic Authors’ Society (2016).

Director: Thanos Papakonstantinou

Director and actor. Graduate of the Drama School “Empros – Theater Workshop” (2009) and of the Faculty of Law, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (2007). He has directed the performances: “The Haunted” by Dimitris Maramis (ATHENS Concert Hall, 2019); “Electra” by Sophocles (National Theater, Epidaurus, 2018); “L’ Orfeo” by Claudio Monteverdi (ATHENS Concert Hall, 2018); “Colossus” (based on Aeschylus’ “Agamemnon”, Michael Cacoyannis Foundation, 2017); “Redshift” by Giannis Mavritsakis (ATHENS Festival, 2014/2015); “Macbeth” by Shakespeare (Apo Michanis Theater, 2015); “Pedestal” (based on Aeschylus’ “Choefores”, Michael Cacoyannis Foundation, 2013); “Venison” (based on Aeschylus’ “Eumenides”, Michael Cacoyannis Foundation, 2012); “The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark” by Shakespeare (Michael Cacoyannis Foundation, 2011).

To contact us please fill in the form below